5 Books to Read Before They Hit the Silver Screen 2016

If you are one of those people who love going to the movies if only so they can letter dissect how the book was better, take note.  Here are five books you’ll want to be reading before they hit the theatres later this year:

billylynnBilly Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain

Oscar-winning director Ang Lee takes on this story of 19-year old Private Billy Lynn and his company.  They are sent on a promotional tour in the US before ultimately returning to war. Kristen Stewart co-stars. (November)

The Lost City of Z by David Grannlostcity

Based on a true story.  In 1925 explorer Percival Fawcett (Charlie Hunnam) went looking for the site of El Dorado deep in the Amazon.  He never returned.  Robert Pattinson co-stars.  (TBA)

luckiestLuckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

Ani (formerly TifAni) is a woman in pursuit of an effortlessly perfect life, but what has that pursuit cost her?  Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train (which is also coming to theatres this year), this thriller has been snapped up by Reese Witherspoon’s production company.  No word yet on a star. (TBA)

The History of Love by Nicole Krausshistorylove

Leo (Derek Jacobi) wrote a book sixty years ago.  Now Alma (Gemma Arterton), who was named after a character in the book, sets of on a journey in search of her namesake. (TBA)

girlgiftsThe Girl With All The Gifts by MR Carey

Finally, I’m assuming that everyone who wants to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies has already done so in time for the February release of the film, but can’t bear to leave you without a zombie film on this list.  I haven’t yet read this story, which NPR’s Genevieve Valentine called “grotesque and grimly hopeful by turns.”  The films stars Gemma Arterton — I predict a big year for her.  How about you?

For a more complete list of book-to-screen adaptations for 2016, check out the CBC’s 15 of the biggest book-to-movie adaptations of 2016.  And be sure to let me know if the book was better 🙂

-Patricia

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s