Carnegie Medals

ClaireThe 2014 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction has announced their shortlist.  Established in 2012, the award recognizes the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers, published in the U.S. in the previous year. (Newbery, Caldecott, and Printz Awards are similar awards for youth literature). This list is based on the expertise of librarians and Booklist editors. The winning titles (one fiction, one nonfiction) will be announced on Saturday, June 28 at the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference.


Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Claire of the Sea Light by Edwidge Danticat

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt


On Paper: The Everything of Its Two-Thousand Year History by Nicholas A. Basbanes

Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital by Sheri Fink

The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and the Golden Age of Journalism by Doris Kearns Goodwin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s