Michael’s Spring 2014 Nonfiction Pics

Keep an eye on our new non-fiction shelves because there are a lot of great books coming out this spring. Here are a few I’m looking forward to reading:

 
ForgivenessForgiveness: A Gift from my Grandparents, by Mark Sakamoto: This biography covers the story of two families on opposite sides of the Second World War. Ralph MacLean is captured in the Pacific and becomes a POW in Japan; the Sakamoto family lose everything as Japanese Canadians are forced from their homes on the West Coast. Fans of Unbroken will probably like this title.

 
LifeAnimatedLife Animated: A Story of Sidekicks, Heroes and Autism, by Ron Suskind: This memoir by Pulitzer Prize winner, Ron Suskind, relates how his autistic son learned to speak through the language of story. Memorizing dozens of Disney movies, the son learned to express emotion through their dialogue and song. The family members took on the roles of animated characters to reach this isolated boy. This one promises to be inspiring and fascinating.

 
accidentaljihadMy Accidental Jihad, by Krista Bremer: Marriage is often an exploration into a foreign culture, even if both partners come from the same class and country. Bremer – a middle class American – meets and falls in love with Ismail – whose impoverished Muslim background includes seven siblings in a Libyan village.

 

 
OliveOlive Odyssey: Searching for the Secrets of the Fruit that Seduced the World, by Julie Angus: From the author of Rowboat in a Hurricane comes this history of the olive and its profound influence on Mediterranean culture. For foodies, armchair travellers, and history buffs alike.

 

 
FreakThink Like a Freak, by Steven Levitt: This follow-up to Freakonomics promises to deliver essential tools allowing you to ‘think like a freak.’ Ostensibly a business book, these tools and insights are intended to help with making smarter decisions in everyday life. For readers of Malcolm Gladwell.

 

 
ZeroThe Zero Marginal Cost Society: The Internet of Things, the Collaborative Commons and the Eclipse of Capitalism, by Jeremy Rifkin. What profound disruptions do the ‘Internet of Things’ and the reduction of marginal costs for so many things hold in store? Is the growing importance of social capital signaling a shift from a capitalist marketplace to something more collaborative? This book looks at recent technological and social developments and pushes them to their logical conclusions.

-Michael

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s