Patricia’s Fresh Picks for September

It’s the first week of September.  And while Staples commercials would have us believe that “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year”, I disagree.

Making the transition from ‘ relaxed mama at the beach’ to ‘harried woman trying to get 3 kids on the ice in time for lessons’ is not an easy transition for me.  And don’t get me started on the amount of paperwork that back to school brings.  Or the packed lunches.

lunch

(I have never ever made a packed lunch that looked anything like this.)

cabinIt’s enough to make you want to flee to a cabin in the woods and curl up with a book until the world fades away.  Here’s what’s just arrived on our shelves.  You can pick a few titles up before you leave town.

markerA Marker to Measure Drift by Alexander Maksik*

The cover promises an endless horizon with nothing on it.  You can pick the book up and just gaze into infinity without ever opening it, or you can lose yourself in this beautifully written story of a Liberian refugee trying to make a new start in Greece.

Visitation Street by Ivy Pochodavisitation

Fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History or Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones will want to grab a copy of this novel about the effects one missing teenager has on an entire community.

pharaohPharaoh by David Gibbins*

You can’t get much further away from back-to-school than this:  An archaeologist on an underwater dive in the Nile finds himself entangled in a centuries-old mystery connected to the Pharaoh Akhenaten.

The People in the Trees by Hanya Yanagiharapeople

Escape to 1950s Micronesia with Norton Perina, a young doctor in search of a lost tribe.  Members of the tribe have an unusually long life expectancy and Perina is determined to find out why.  Fans of Anne Patchett’s State of Wonder need look no further than this debut to find a compelling, bookclub-friendly fall read.

fatalA Fatal Likeness by Lynn Shepherd*

Imagine it:  a rainy afternoon, you’re curled up snugly in an armchair and lost in Victorian England.  There’s the possibility of a scandalous revelation about the authorship of Frankenstein and the lives of Mary and Percy Bysshe Shelley.

If we can’t get to a woodsy cabin, or Victorian England, how about curling up in a book fort for an hour or two —hideyhole wouldn’t that really make this week the most wonderful time?

*Thank you as always to NetGalley for providing Advanced Readers’ Copies of titles that let the world slip away.

–Patricia

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s