Patricia’s Summer Picks

It’s summertime and the living is easy.  Especially the outdoor living.  Whether you are camping, headed out to the beach or swinging gently in a hammock, we have great reads for you.

Here are my Summer Picks :

To Bring Camping

camping  Ever since I nearly gave myself a heart attack reading The Girl Who Loved Tom      Gordon while camping near Lake Erie, I’ve felt that camping and horror are a natural fit for one another.  Thrillers also work.  (Basically, anyway you can be miles away from anywhere and scare yourself silly works for me.)  This year we’re spoilt for choice, modern masters Stephen King and Neil Gaiman both have new works out.  silent wifeKing’s Joyland immerses us in the bittersweet world of the smalltown carnival, while Gaiman shows us the immensity of The Ocean at the End of the Lane.  Joyland is delightfully pulp tinged with nostalgia, The Ocean is mythic and leaves you wanting more.  Both are good bets.

Another good bet to bring camping is A.S.A. Harrison’s The Silent Wife*.  Like last year’s Gone Girl this psychological thriller takes us on a heartpounding ride through a dying marriage.

beachOn The Beach

Heading out for a day lounging in the sun?  What better to bring with you then some juicy fiction about relationships.  Hot beach reads on my list this summer include Lauren Weisberger’s Revenge Wears Prada (the sequel to The Devil Wears Prada), Liane Moriarty’s The Husband’s Secret* and Jessica Brockmole’s debut, Letters from Skye*.skye

Letters from Skye is a story told in letters, perfect for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society.  It tells the story of Elspeth Dunn, a Scottish poet, and the relationship she strikes up with an American fan of her work.  Full of love and secrets and spanning two world wars, this debut is a perfect summer read.

hammockFor Times of Quiet Contemplation

Find yourself up with the early sun and need a deeper read?  Try J.M. Sidorova’s The Age of Ice*.  A blend of Russian historical fiction, science fiction and magic realism, this novel tells the tale of twin boys conceived because of a bizarre order from a Russian empress and spans 300 years.

Another good bet is Niccolo Ammaniti’s satire of the superficiality of modern life, Let the Games Begin*. (And may I say, awesome cover.)

 

For Reading With a Flashlight Under the Covers During a Summer Rain

watchmenOkay, I don’t do this as much anymore as I used to.  But this summer I just might make an effort to because of the (non-Alan Moore approved) Watchmen prequels, Before Watchmen*.  This four-volume series is written and illustrated by a variety of people at the top of their game.  The series standout is Brian Azzarello’s volume on Comedian / Rorschach*.

Another good under-the-cover read is Jason Mott’s The Returned, in which an elderly coupleflashlight are reunited with their dead son — who is still 8 years old.

They say that every summer has a story.  This summer I’m hoping yours has many.

–Patricia

*Thank you, as always, to NetGalley for allowing us access to access to copies of these fabulous summer reads.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s