NVCL’s Fresh Picks — June 2013

katespadeWhen you’ve got something new, it’s nice when someone notices.  A fabulous new bag can be made more fabulous by an appreciative audience – the same can be said of new books.  From now on, we’d like a chance to show off some of the newest additions to our collections, our Fresh Picks.  Here are some of the most exciting new books we’ve very recently added to our shelves:

The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes*shininggirls

What makes it exciting?  A time travelling serial killer who seeks out girls he perceives as having ‘vital energy.’  It’s graphic, yet thrilling.  In the New York Times, Janet Maslin raves that it’s a “strong contender for the role of this summer’s universal beach read.”

Taipei by Tao Lin*taipei

What makes it exciting?  The sparkly cover may be the only thing about this book that screams excitement, but there’s a certain allure to reading about the heartless ennui of youth.

transTransAtlantic by Colum McCann*

What makes it exciting?  McCann’s Let the Great World Spin won the 2009 National Book Award and the 2011 IMPAC Dublin award (it’s the award chosen by public libraries, so I follow it).  I’m eager to see how his newest compares – it’s a sprawling interconnected narrative perfect for fans of David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas.

seaThe Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay*

What makes it exciting?  The sense of mystery.  Nastya Kashnikov’s life is in ruins.  She finds herself drawn to Josh Bennett, a boy who has lost everything.  The mystery of how Nastya became broken is parceled out in this immensely readable first novel.

weareallWe Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

What makes it exciting?  The premise is intriguing. Kirkus raves that this story of a woman grieving the loss of her sister (who happens to be a chimpanzee) is “technically and intellectually complex, while emotionally gripping.”

*Thanks to NetGalley for providing promotional copies of these titles.

–Patricia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s